This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 4df0aa26a67c9.jpg

The four-eyed fishes are a genus, Anableps, of fishes in the family Anablepidae. They have eyes raised above the top of the head and divided in two different parts, so that they can see below and above the water surface at the same time.

Type species
Anableps anableps

There are currently three recognized species in this genus.

  • Anableps anableps
  • Anableps dowei
  • Anableps microlepis